What Can the Night Do?

 
What can the Night do?
with its solemn black, its organ tongue
which is only heard by the damned
who have ears to hear and have heard it
 
What can the Night do?
to a child that has filled it, emptied it
of its vacuum and its stale perfume
tossing in his elixir and his fragile hand skeleton
 
What can the Night do?
that vows its self as the bride of poetry
whose language heaps Shakespeare and Dickinson
whose palm turns, shading the globe and the gun
 
What can the Night do?
that has taken my mother and her mother before her
that has torn down the tents and the sticks of empire
that has brought sleep to the dollar and cents laborer
 
What can the Night do?
but replace the day and say “ancient”
hang out tinsel and shine like death’s ornament
touch your mate’s eyelids and close them forever
 
What can the Night do?
with its no choice and its never after
with its “I don’t know you but I’ve seen you before”
with its tail wag and its wet nose for Master
 
What can the Night do?
that I can’t with my prick and hair trigger
with my wine and my pen and lip quiver
with my soft whisper and spit-flying cuss

2 thoughts on “What Can the Night Do?”

  1. What can the night do? It can produce a magnificent poem filled with soft innuendo and flying rhyme. It’s the old Mark, home to poetry again I am having a little trouble with the last line – is it a reference to The Mooch? If so, I think it might fly in another poem. Being specific narrows its possibilities for me. Really fine work, Mark,

    Like

    1. Hi, Roni. It’s an old poem. I didn’t even know who The Mooch was when I wrote it. LOL
      So obviously no reference there. It’s a general line of defiance thrown at the “Night.”

      Nice to hear from you here.

      MSS

      Like

Leave a Reply

